By Vasiliki Karlsson, SB23 

I decided to interview my sister Alexandra Karlsson. She turned twenty this year which means she officially hit the one year mark from graduation day. I remember it like yesterday when she broke down at least every week due to the pressure she felt, because every interaction she had with relatives or friends during the last term was about, “What comes next?”

Vasiliki Karlsson: How was your time towards the end of high school?

Alexandra Karlsson: My last term was probably the hardest because reality was creeping up on me. During my first and second year I only got “average” grades which meant that the only thing I could rely on now to allow me to continue my studies was the university admissions exam. That was also a hard thing to process because I have dyscalculia and dyslexia, and the university admissions exam only tests your math, Swedish, and English knowledge –– unfortunate for me I guess. There were also a lot of expectations on me towards the end. I remember all the stories from teachers and my parents about university being their best decision in life, and basically mandatory for a bright future. 

Vasiliki Karlsson: Do you think social constructs have an impact on which path you take after graduation?

Alexandra Karlsson: Yes, I would say that social norms have a humongous impact on people. In today’s society I would say that the norm is to have a semi-set plan right before graduating. For example you should know that you want to travel or go backpacking for a year, then move on to study law at Uppsalas university. However I don’t think this is reality for everyone. When you choose a career path, it’s hard to change that later on in life, which means you’re “stuck” in that field. All of my friends planned their future taking into account what their parents preferred, or what their surroundings expected of them. Now a year later they are regretting their decisions, which is totally fine, but they have lost money that could have been saved up towards something they are passionate about. I think the worst choice you can make is having a bulletproof plan for what comes next.

Vasiliki Karlsson: What are you doing now after graduation?

Alexandra Karlsson: I am currently employed at a school as a teacher’s assistant. In contrast to a lot of my friends I am pleased with my choice, because I still don’t have a set plan about further studies, so I am having fun instead and will continue the teaching path until I find my true passion. Of course I have plans to see the world as soon as I have enough in my savings account, and I also know that I have an interest in doing voluntary work outside of Sweden which might be my next goal. However nothing is set in stone, and I don’t mind my plans changing.

Vasiliki Karlsson: Do you have anything you would like to say to people who are anxious about what their future holds?

Alexandra Karlsson: Sitting in a classroom is not for everyone, and I want to remind people in the same position I was a year ago that you are still young and have a lot of time to make mistakes, then learn and make new ones. The last tip I want to give is believe in yourself, and it is normal to not have it all mapped out, even in your twenties.